Author: Jiri Popelka


 Volleyball history    The volleyball story    The game volleyball    FIVB history        History of volleyball events    Olympic Games    World Championships    European Championships    Pan America Games    Norceca Continental Championships    South American Championships    Asian Championships    African Championships    History of European Cups        FIVB documents    Official volleyball rules 2005 (en, fra)    International transfer certificate 2006/2007    Organization of competitions & events    Volleyball Sports Material, Equipment & Advertising Guidelines    Medical regulations    Official scoresheet        WADA Anti-doping    Athlete guide (en, fra,...

Read More

History of European Cups

European Cups are played since 1960. Most successfull team in history was CSKA Moscow, winning 13 times Champions League. In 1990´s european cups were under Italian domination. In present time many european teams are balanced.     European Champions League 1960 CSKA Moscow 1961 Rapid Bucuresti 1962 CSKA Moscow 1963 Rapid Bucuresti 1964 SC Leipzig 1965 Rapid Bucuresti 1966 Dinamo Bucuresti 1967 Dinamo Bucuresti 1968 Spartak Brno 1969 CSKA Sofia 1970 Burevestnik Alma-Ata 1971 Burevestnik Alma-Ata 1972 Zetor Zbrojovka Brno Top Teams Cup   1973 CSKA Moscow Zvezda Voroshilovgrad   1974 CSKA Moscow Radiotechnik Riga   1975 CSKA Moscow Radiotechnik Riga   1976 Dukla Liberec CSKA Sofia   1977 CSKA Moscow Radiotechnik Riga   1978 Plomien Milowice Red Star Prague   1979 CH Bratislava Dinamo Bucuresti   1980 Torino Daytona Modena CEV Cup 1981 Dinamo Bucuresti Crvena Zvezda AS Cannes 1982 CSKA Moscow Automobilist Leningrad Starlift Voorburg 1983 CSKA Moscow Automobilist Leningrad Kerakoll Modena 1984 Parma Kappa Torino Kerakoll Modena 1985 Parma Dynamo Moscow Kerakoll Modena 1986 CSKA Moscow Daytona Modena Kutiba Falconara 1987 CSKA Moscow Tartarini Bologna Enermix Milano 1988 CSKA Moscow Maxicono Parma Automobilist Leningrad 1989 CSKA Moscow Maxicono Parma Automobilist Leningrad 1990 Volley Modena Maxicono Parma Moerser Moers SC 1991 CSKA Moscow Gabeca Montichiari Sisley Treviso 1992 Ravenna Gabeca Montichiari Volley Parma 1993 Ravenna Misura Milano Sisley Treviso 1994 Ravenna Sisley Treviso Ignis Padova 1995 Sisley...

Read More

Asian Volleyball Championships

History of volleyball in Asia started in 1954, the Asian Volleyball Confederation was established at Manila on the occasion of the 2nd Asian Games.     In 1955, the first Men's Asian Volleyball Championship was organized in Tokyo (Japan) as the official championship of the Asian Volleyball Confederation. In the 3rd Asian Games at Tokyo (Japan) in 1958, the game of volleyball was officially adopted as one of the men's event of Asian Games programme. Most succesfull country of the Asian Games in past 30 years is Japan winning six times the title. Asian games take place every two...

Read More

Volleyball on Pan American Games

The Pan American Games bring together athletes from the countries of the Americas in a festival of sport and international friendship. First time the volleyball was played on Pan American Games was in 1955. In Mexico City gold medal won the team of Unites States.     The Pan American games are a continental version of the Olympic Games which includes the Olympic Program sports and others that are not part of the Olympics. Conducted every four years, always one year before the Olympic Games, the first Pan American Games were held in 1951, in Buenos Aires, capital of...

Read More

History of European Championships

European Volleyball Championships history starts in 1948. Untill now there has been 24 european tournaments. The most medals won the Soviet Union. Europe in global is the continent with the best  teams (Italy, Russia, Serbia & Montenegro, France, Poland,…) and the best volleyball players of the world are playing volleyball leagues in Italy, Russia, Greece and France. History of European Championships(click on the place of ECH to find out more) year place gold silver bronze 1948 Italy Czechoslovakia France Italy 1950 Bulgaria Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Hungary 1951 France Soviet Union Bulgaria France 1955 Romania Czechoslovakia Romania Bulgaria 1958 Czechoslovakia Czechoslovakia Romania Soviet Union 1963 Romania Romania Hungary Soviet Union 1967 Turkey Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Poland 1971 Italy Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Romania 1975 Yugoslavia Soviet Union Poland Yugoslavia 1977 Finland Soviet Union Poland Romania 1979 France Soviet Union Poland Yugoslavia 1981 Bulgaria Soviet Union Poland Bulgaria 1983 GDR Soviet Union Poland Bulgaria 1985 Netherlands Soviet Union Czechoslovakia France 1987 Belgium Soviet Union France Greece 1989 Sweden Italy Sweden Netherlands 1991 Germany Russia Italy Netherlands 1993 Finland Italy Netherlands Russia 1995 Greece Italy Netherlands Yugoslavia 1997 Netherlands Netherlands Yugoslavia Italy 1999 Austria Italy Russia Yugoslavia 2001 Czech Republic Yugoslavia Italy Russia 2003 Germany Italy France Russia 2005 Italy + Serbia & Montenegro Italy Russia Serbia & Montenegro 2007 Russia ? ? ? Country medal total gold silver bronze Soviet Union/Russia 19...

Read More


volleycountry volleyball knee pads

RSS Inside VolleyCountry

  • Essay Writing Service
    Do you need an Essay Writing Service that will give you really excellent work at the cheapest rates possible? Well then,there is only one service provider who can actually work out best for you:UK Essay Tigers who will ensure that nothing but best quality is provided to you.
  • USA - NVA (National Volleyball Association)
    USA has a pro league for men's volleyball now. Article from wov:…nched-soon.html Official website:
  • Big betting scandal in Romania…lui-525056.html As I knew match Vojvodina - Arcada (last year CEV Cup) was fixed on 3:0 but story goes on and there will be more "juicy" stories. Sad for this sport