Author: Yavor Dimitrov

Beach Volleyball at the Olympics – preview

Beach volleyball has been among the fastest developing sports in the world and one of the highly anticipated and well attended during the Olympics. As we expect this to be the case in Rio de Janeiro as well, we dedicate today’s special report on the men’s beach volleyball tournament days before it commences. Arena Copacabana is allegedly the most popular place to play beach volleyball and will host this year’s Olympic tournament. Situated right on the beach, the arena, with a capacity of 12 000, has a center court for competition, plus five training courts and two warm-up courts....

Read More

Beach news: Rio calling

Days before the beginning of the greatest sports event in 2016 our attention is gradually turning to the forthcoming beach volleyball tournament at the heart of Brazil. Rio 2016 draw The Swiss village of Gstaad was the stage for the Olympic draw at the beginning of July. This is how the six men’s pools look like: Pool A – Alison-Bruno (Brazil), Ranghieri-Carambula (Italy), Doppler-Horst (Austria), Binstock-Schachter (Canada)Pool B – Brouwer-Meeuwsen (Netherlands), Losiak-Kantor (Poland), Böckermann-Flüggen (Germany), Barsouk-Lyamin (Russia)Pool C – Lucena-Dalhausser (USA), Nicolai-Lupo (Italy), Virgen-Ontiveros (Mexico), Belhaj-Naceur (Tunisia)Pool D – Pedro-Evandro (Brazil), Samoilovs-Smedins (Latvia), Schalk-Saxton (Canada), Gonzalez-Nivaldo (Cuba)Pool E –...

Read More

Talents: Mohammadjavad Manavinezhad

“With a name as long as his potential” – this is how FIVB first introduced the Iranian teenager in 2013 during the Boys’ U19 World Championship. Three years later the outside attacker is part of the senior team and has been one of the revelations in 2016 so far. Manavinezhad’s path across Iran’s junior and youth formations have been a great success. The Persians dominated in a series of Asian championships and Paykan’s outside attacker often starred in those. The player helped his country win the 2012 Asian Youth Championship, then the 2014 Asian Junior Championship, followed by gold...

Read More

Talents: Pierre Jean Stephen Boyer

One of the two pleasant surprises in the French league this season came from the country’s eastern part. The small club Chaumont, coached by the experienced Italian volleyball “professor” Silvano Prandi (his Italian nickname), was among the title contenders throughout the entire campaign. The French championship is one of the several worldwide where top players are recruited and it is often challenging for youngsters to shine. But it wasn’t quite the case in this year’s Silvano Prandi’s side. With a very interesting mixture between experience and some raw talent in their roster, Chaumont enjoyed probably the best season in...

Read More

Talents: Martin Atanasov

Our next member of the Talents series is one of Bulgaria’s new national team players. Although no Best Youngster award is granted in the Bulgarian Sami-M Superliga, Martin Atanasov would’ve certainly been the favourite of the 2015-2016 season. The 19-year-old outside attacker had been relatively unknown to a lot of specialists even in the domestic league before he won the gold medals with his team a month ago. Product of Levski Sofia’s volleyball school, Atanasov played for the ‘blues’ last season when he and his teammates, composing one of the youngest teams in the league’s history, fought to avoid...

Read More

RSS Inside VolleyCountry