Facing Cuba is always difficult, they are very strong physically and so is their defence and blocking game. But overall I am happy with this result,” said Rubinho Leonaldo.

Brazil won the gold medal after defeating Cuba 3-1 at the Pan American Games volleyball tournament. Brazil claimed the crown after 1 hour and 32 minutes. Wallace De Souza tallied 21 points while Luiz Fonteles finished with 15 for the Brazilian team. Fernando Hernandez Ramos and Wilfredo Leon, who was later named the tournament MVP, scored 18 each for Cuba.

I want to congratulate Brazil, technically and tactically they were the strongest team in this tournament for the rest of the competitors,” said Cuba coach Orlando Samuels.

Argentina won the bronze medal after defeating the hosts Mexico in five sets (25-18, 22-25, 20-25, 25-22, 15-13). The South American team played a total of 30 sets during the competition to reach the podium. Mariano Giustiniano scored 22 points while Sebastian Sole registered 17 and Federico Pereyra finished with 16. Mexican captain Ivan Contreras was the leading scorer of this match with 23 tallies, while Tomas Aguilera finished with 16.

Final Ranking
1 Brazil. 2 Cuba. 3 Argentina. 4 Mexico. 5 USA. 6 Canada. 7 Puerto Rico. 8 Venezuela.

Individual Awards
MVP: Wilfredo Leon (CUB)
Best Scorer: Ivan Contreras (MEX)
Best Spiker: Wallace de Souza (BRA)
Best Blocker: Sebastian Sole (ARG)
Best Server: Fernando Hernandez Ramos (CUB)
Best Setter: Bruno Rezende (BRA)
Best Receiver: Mario Da Silva (BRA)
Best Digger: Blair Bann (CAN)
Best Libero: Hector Mata (VEN)

source: FIVB