Rotterdam, Netherlands, October 4, 2015. Russia silenced 11,000 fans in attendance at the Sportpaleis Ahoy arena in Rotterdam and upset the home heroines of The Netherlands cruising to a 3:0 win (25-14, 25-20, 25-20) to claim the gold medal of the 2015 CEV DELA Volleyball European Championship – Women. The Russian side accomplished the great feat of winning back-to-back European titles, following their gold medal from the 2013 EuroVolley held in Switzerland and Germany. Two years later, the Russian ladies replicated that success and celebrated the 19th European crown for their country by counting also those claimed by the former Soviet Union. Tatiana Kosheleva received the award for the Most Valuable Player of the tournament as it happened also two years ago in Berlin and another six of her countrywomen – Irina Zaryazhko, Alexandra Pasynkova, Nataliia Obmochaeva, Ekaterina Kosianenko, Natalia Malykh and Anna Malova – celebrated their second straight European title as well. 

“Today our defence worked very well. I am really proud of my team: this was one of the best matches we have played, especially since in our previous matches we were not so good. I think the Netherlands were a bit tired and more nervous,” declared the coach of Russia, Yuriy Marichev

“We lost because Russia was extremely good today. We could not play the game we wanted, but still, I am incredibly proud of this team,” stated the coach of The Netherlands, Giovanni Guidetti. 

The captain of the Dutch team Maret Balkestein-Grothues added: “It was really hard to play against Russia today: their defence worked perfectly. We really hoped to get into the flow that we had showed in the last matches, but we failed. We have experienced a super tournament, and closing it with this defeat is really bad for us. But still, we won the silver medal today, we should be proud.” 

Dream Team of the tournament

Most Valuable Player: Tatiana Kosheleva (Russia)
Best Setter: Maja Ognjenovic (Serbia)
Best Opposite: Lonneke Slöetjes (Netherlands)
Best Outside spiker: Tatiana Kosheleva (Russia)
Second Best outside spiker: Anne Buijs (Netherlands)
Best Middle Blocker: Irina Zaryazhko (Russia)
Second Best Middle Blocker: Eda Erdem Dündar (Turkey)
Best Libero: Anna Malova (Russia) 

Fair Play Award: President of the Dutch Volleyball Federation (Nevobo), Hans Nieukerke

Final standing of the 2015 CEV DELA Volleyball European Championship – Women

1. Russia*
2. The Netherlands*
3. Serbia*
4. Turkey*
5. Germany*
6. Belgium
7. Italy
8. Poland
9. Belarus
10. Croatia
11. Czech Republic  
12. Hungary
13. Bulgaria
14. Azerbaijan
15. Romania
16. Slovenia 

*The top five are qualified for the Final Round of the 2017 CEV Volleyball European Championship – Women alongside the national teams of organisers Azerbaijan and Georgia.