Sitting volleyball, which developed in the Netherlands in 1956, was initially featured as a demonstration sport at the 1976 Toronto Paralympics Games. It became a competitive sport in the Netherlands four years later, and it has since acquired popularity in over 60 nations across the world, including Australia.

Sitting volleyball, a modified form of the original’standing’ volleyball, is an active sport for those with and without physical disabilities. It is divided into two levels of impairment: handicapped and minimally disabled. The court is substantially smaller than the standing volleyball court, which is 6m x 10m and has nets that are 1.15m for men and 1.05m for women.

According to the FIVB rules, there are only two rules in this short game:

– While playing, players are not permitted to lift their feet off the ground.
– The ball can be served and blocked by players.

Sitting Volleyball’s Characteristics

Two 6-player teams compete in sitting volleyball, which has fixed motion, increased communication, and ferocious explosiveness on the court. The two teams are divided by a low-height net (1.05 m for women and 1.15 m for men) and attempt to score points by landing the ball in the opposing team’s court. Each team has three ball touches before delivering the ball to the opposing court in order to score.

Players compete in a high-intensity game with the goal of scoring 25 points and a 2-point lead to win the set. To win the game, a side must win three sets.

There are men’s and women’s volleyball games at the Paralympic Games, with a total of eight teams competing. The World ParaVolley is in charge of overseeing the sport of sitting volleyball all over the world. They have a set of official sitting volleyball rules, as well as a variety of teaching graphics, which were released in October 2013.

Prior to participation, physical disability is classified

All competitors, regardless of physical limitation, are allowed to play seated volleyball, according to World ParaVolley. At the national level, athletes compete against each other on a level basis. Simular to comparing casino bonuses. Every athlete competing at the recognized levels, world championships, and Paralympic Games must have a physical impairment that is classified.

Athletes must undergo an evaluation in order to be classified into groups in order to compete in the Paralympic Games. These individuals are divided into two sports classes for sitting volleyball: Minimally Disabled (MD) and Disabled (D) (D). MD refers to a volleyball player who has a leg handicap that precludes him or her from playing standing volleyball. Athletes who are classed as D have a more significant handicap that affects their field of play.

The sitting volleyball regulatory board enables each side to have a minimum of two players with minor disabilities, such as missing fingers. In the majority of cases, before joining a club and competing in a local competition,

Upcoming events 2022

Final Qualifier for the 2022 Sitting Volleyball World Championships Men – tba
Final Qualifier for the 2022 Sitting Volleyball World Championships Women – tba
Sitting Volleyball World Championships – Hangzhou, China
Asian Para Games – Hangzhou, China
World Super 6 (men) – tba
World Super 6 (women) – tba